Toddlers- They really do need a baby chino…right?

_CSC0975Before I become a mum I had a fairly low tolerance for children. In fact I had zero tolerance most of the time. I simply couldn’t believe the way parents doted on their children, in particular toddlers.

You know those toddlers that go into a violent rage when they aren’t allowed to get some kind of object/toy from every shop visited.The toddler that screams “No” defiantly in a shopping centre when told politely they are going back in their pram. Oh and toddlers that refuse to walk when your arms are full of heavy grocery bags.

Why would you have one?

Who would have guessed that despite their hideous outburst toddlers are the most adorable little beings. If you’re reading you most likely have one so I know you already know this fact, but they really do light up your life with just one cute giggle……

Before I was a mother, 2 years and 4 months ago to be precise I had a mental list of things that would never be acceptable in my home.
What a list…….

No – 1- Toddler would only get toys when necessary and they would be special and appreciated. Play room would hopefully resemble muted shades of blue and lots of wooden toys for that “vogue living look” oh and an old fashioned abacus…. How completely child chic….

Complete fail- We have a variety of accumulated toys and the play room is an abomination of bright garish primary colours. It is not vogue living, it is however Target tested through and through. There is no abacus, no neutral coloured railway set and there is no child sitting playing with it looking serene in his white unstained linen overalls. There is however a child going ballistic slamming a bat into 20 balloons I have just blown up for his enjoyment.

No-2- Toddler would not have a strong interest in fast food chain, in particular “The Golden Arches”. My toddler would be eating organic food and would follow healthy eating habits just like his mother (without her sweet tooth)….

Fail- We rarely go to “The Golden Arches” but one meal with gift was all it took for this obsession to start. Last long car trip we drove past the famous sign to hear a commotion in the back seat. We turned around shortly afterwards and gave in to the much loved meal with gift.

No-3- Toddler will not rudely eat food before reaching supermarket counter, with the exception of perhaps a grape or 2. No mauling of foods.

Fail-Last supermarket trip a “Kinder Surprise” was eaten well and truly before I had even got to aisle 3 (I did rescue the barcode). Apples are also frequently taken to counter with a bite out.

No.4- Before I had my lovely toddler I watched a comedian talking about toddler behaviour. At the time I found it hilarious. He spoke about children’s behaviour in cafes and restaurants. He went on to say that he noted a child demanding a “baby chino”; in fact the child was saying “I just really need a baby chino”. I was mortified, what a brat.

Epic fail- Each week I would average spending $10.00 on a bit of fluff and sprinkles. As we pass the café I hear “cof, cof, cof (meaning coffee from a 2 year old). I even tried to ween him off baby chinos, no it didn’t work. The hands went out as if to say “where’s my baby chino ?” As if to say “I need my baby chino….”
One look at his adorable pudgy face and I ordered him a beloved baby chino (he was also starting to roll around the café couch like a maniac).

Toddlers- adorable on all accounts when they are your own or closely related….

text provided be http://www.jessicasarahdotcom.com

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

