Playgroup- Do the mothers at school really like me?

_CSC0975

Funnily enough when you have a child you have to go back to school. Unless your planning to raise a baby hermit,you as parent of your child are forced to attend PLAYGROUP. Playgroup, Early Learning Centres, Kindy Gym, Reading Magic, Sing Alongs and possible a hundred other options are devised to socialize, stimulate and generally provide interest for your little rug rat.

I never really understood that you eventually have to take your child to these things. As a first time mother I spent the first 12 months happily shopping, sipping a latte or three and forcing my lovely child to sit in small cubicles while I tried on hundreds of outfits while he sat patiently chewing on a coat hanger. I decided it may not be the healthiest situation for my son to only know just how many items you can take into Myer and perhaps do the playgroup thing…for his sake not mine…

Possibly because we have moved so frequently since my son was born I never did “Playgroup”. Once we moved somewhere I knew we would be staying for more than 5 minutes I knew it was time to do “The Playgroup Thing”. Playgroup really concerned me. I’m not a mumsy mummy and I heard that playgroups can be clicky. “Do I have to go I thought”…. well yes my adult brain told me.”Your not a child anymore your 30 and you actually have a child that may like to be socialized outside of a department store change room”.

We were going to playgroup, Monday morning. My husband had actually asked what I was going to wear to playgroup? He was obviously, well possible mildly concerned I was going to be “The Inappropriately Dressed Mother” not in a overtly sexual way just in a “That really is too much to be singing Twinkle Twinkle Little Star at 10am on a Monday morning kind of way”.

Funnily enough playgroups are a bit like miniscule versions of society. It covers most stereo types sporty mummy, fashion savvy mummy, craft mummy, funny mummy, stressed mummy, arty mummy, hippy mummy oh and a few daddies who I always feel for during singing time. Everyone is actually secretly admiring them for being man enough to 1 – go to playgroup and 2– sing Twinkle Little Star without showing hint of embarrassment in room full of women.

So what stereo type was I going to fit into? Well this could be a chance to really shine. I no longer had my daggy not cool enough school wardrobe. I had a hip designer wardrobe and overpriced sunglasses this time round in the school yard. Problem being… no one likes a show off!!!!

So off we went to our “Early Learning Centre” , I chose a class that had maximum structured activity to avoid feeling like a lost schoolgirl. I know it wasn’t about me…. but my son was fine infact he was totally loving it. I knew this would not be the first and only class we would be attending. Me-I was busy feeling somewhat uncomfortable but old enough to not really care. The difference- I was now at school at 30 not 10 and this was a lot easier. I also had a son that was getting way more out of it than he was ever going to get in any store change room.

So we kept going and going and I am a regular at this playgroup business now. I engage and initiate mummy conversations about sleep habits, fussy eaters and toddler tantrums ( unbelievably I secretly enjoy it). I guess that’s wear life is currently at and when you can discuss the mundane going on’s of mother hood with someone that ‘s going through it at the same time. It also makes for a bit of light relief for others that are either way past that stage of life or just don’t really care ( so me 2 years ago…).

To sum up-We really have become accustomed to our playgroup these days and as much as I hate to say it I look forward to my Monday’s singing “Twinkle Twinkle Little Star”. Oh and do the mothers at school really like me???…. Perhaps….. but I might take some muffins next week to really seal the deal.

Image courtesy of jessicasarahdotcom.com

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

